University of Groningen

 

Founded in 1614, the University of Groningen is one of the oldest universities in Europe. It is also the second oldest and third largest university in the Netherlands. Groningen is one of the earliest university cities in the Netherlands after Leiden, with about 30,000 students people. Its top academic research is well-known internationally. The University of Groningen’s network of contacts is spread all over the world, and the modern, student-oriented excellent teaching method has made the University of Groningen famous internationally. The University of Groningen offers bachelor, master, and doctoral programs in various fields, many of which are taught in English. There are currently international students from more than 100 countries. The sister schools that cooperate with Groningen are also all over the world, including National Taiwan University, National Chengchi University, National Sun Yat-sen University, Yuanzhi University, Fu Jen Catholic University and Soochow University.

 

The University of Groningen has an excellent reputation in the academic world. It is one of the top 100 comprehensive universities in the world. It is ranked 74th in the world in the Times World University Rankings and 75th in the World University Academic Rankings (ARWU). Ranked 90th in the world in the QS World University Rankings and 35th in Europe. Such an impressive world ranking is enough to witness his faculty strength and foresee the good development prospects of students.

 

The University of Groningen is a member of the European COIMBRA Group, organized by the cooperation of 38 universities with the longest history in Europe. Its members include the University of Cambridge and the University of Oxford. The University of Groningen is a member of the Excellence Group of the best universities in Europe. The group has 56 members and ranks among the top 1 among 4,500 European higher education institutions.

 

In addition, the Zernike Institute of the University of Groningen ranks among the top 10 in the rankings of the Institute of Materials Science of the Times World University, sharing superior scientific research resources with Harvard University and MIT. The University of Groningen ranks among the top three European research universities in ecology, materials science, chemistry and astronomy. Other outstanding research teams include: nanoscience, physics, molecular biology, microbiology, medicine, neuroscience, sociology, philosophy, theology, archaeology and art. More than 5,000 research results are published every year, and an average of 260 doctoral students are awarded doctorates.

 

The Physics Department of the University of Groningen has always maintained a high level of teaching and research, and has many Nobel Prize winners. Research focuses on: materials science, nuclear physics, isotopes, biology and theoretical physics. The teaching staff is strong, the teaching equipment is advanced, and the teaching and scientific research are closely linked. The Institute of Physics and Nuclear Accelerator Institute has gathered more than 50 outstanding scientists and about 50 doctoral students and post-doctoral students. There are more than 300 students studying physics or applied physics.

 

Among the scholars of the University of Groningen are Professor Bernard Feringa Bernard Feringa, the Nobel Prize winner in Chemistry; Frederik Zernike, the Nobel Prize winner in Physics; Johann Bernoulli, the pioneer of calculus; and Jacobus Kapteyn, the discoverer of evidence for the rotation of the Milky Way. The students included Aletta Jacobs, the first female university student in the Netherlands, Wubbo Ockels, the first astronaut in the Netherlands, and Wim Duisenberg, the first president of the European Central Bank.

 

Groningen

The city of Groningen, where the school is located, is the fifth largest city in the Netherlands. It is the economic, trade, and cultural and educational center of the north of the Netherlands. It has a long history and a developed economy. It is an ideal and safe city for students. For a long time, the city of Groningen has been the center of science, culture, trade and industry in the north of the Netherlands. Its history can be traced back to nearly 1,000 years ago, and the building has strong Dutch characteristics. The scenery here is beautiful, the climate is pleasant, and the transportation is convenient. People are young and energetic, and nearly half of the population is under 35 years old. Students here will be able to enjoy a colorful student life and different social and cultural activities. Groningen is also the friendliest city in the Netherlands selected by international students. In addition, the school also provides students with good sports and entertainment facilities, including multiple sports centers, banks, bars, shops, restaurants, etc.

 

Campus facilities

The school has first-class teaching and research equipment and nearly a million books in collections. Its computer equipment and interactive multimedia teaching system are at the leading level among Dutch universities. Another feature of the school is its advanced e-learning environment. The school provides students with convenient computer learning facilities. Students can search for reference materials, homework assignments assigned by teachers, feedback from teachers, register for courses and exams, and participate in group discussions on the computer network.

 

School teachers

The University of Groningen has an enlightening and high-quality style of study. The teaching method is conducted in groups, encouraging students to absorb knowledge, and providing enough space for students to discuss and spark different sparks to inspire new thinking. The unique teaching and research of the University of Groningen has always been the core focus of the university, and this feature is also shown in the teaching of the institute.

 

Internationalization is one of the important factors for the success of the University of Groningen in teaching. It has long cooperated with universities in other countries to carry out exchange projects and enjoys an international reputation. The University of Groningen has always regarded the mission of an open and international school to establish a wide range of cooperative relations with government agencies, industrial and commercial enterprises, and academic groups. It is a characteristic of the school and an important means to improve the academic level and reputation of the school. The school often invites famous domestic and foreign experts and scholars to teach at the school. Senior government officials from some government agencies and senior managers from the corporate world have also been hired as visiting professors.

 

The University of Groningen has 9 faculties, 9 graduate schools, 27 research centers and institutions, and more than 175 degree programs, including: art, behavior and social sciences, economics and business, law, mathematics and natural sciences, medicine, philosophy, Institute of Spatial Information, Theology and Religious Studies. In order to further promote the scientific research development of the school, the University of Groningen has also established full scholarships for international students in molecular science, evolutionary biology, nanoscience, and medical and pharmaceutical innovation. The school's computer equipment and multimedia teaching system are at the leading level among Dutch universities. In order to further promote the scientific research development of the school, the University of Groningen has also established full scholarships for international students in molecular science, evolutionary biology, nanoscience, and medicine and pharmaceutical innovation.

 

Cost is also one of the factors considered when studying abroad. The cost of the University of Groningen is much cheaper than that of the capital Amsterdam. The tuition fee for a bachelor's course is about 8300-10900 euros, and the tuition for a master's program is about 11500-14350 euros.

 

Groningen offers master's programs in many fields, and the length of the courses is about one to two years. The University of Groningen focuses on internationalization, and nearly 60 master's programs are taught in English. The courses are all high-quality teaching and research-based. In addition to the general master's program, the University of Groningen also offers a two-year research master's program, and graduates of the master's degree can continue to apply for the doctoral program.

 

Professional field introduction:

 

Mathematics and natural sciences

Applied Mathematics, Applied Physics, Astronomy, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Computer Science Energy and Environment, Industrial Engineering and Management Mathematics, Nanoscience, Physics

 

Life Science

Behavioral and cognitive nervous system science, biology, biomedical engineering, molecular biology, evolutionary biology, marine biology, medical innovation, biomedicine, medicine and pharmacy, molecular biology and biology

 

Space science

Environment and infrastructure planning, population research, regional research

 

Literature

American Studies, Applied Linguistics, Art History and Archaeology, Classical, Medieval and Renaissance Studies, English Studies, European Culture, Clinical Linguistics, International Humanitarianism, State Relations and International Institutions, Linguistics, Literary and Cultural Studies, Modern and Contemporary history

 

Economics and Management

Business Administration, Econometrics, Operations Research, Actuarial Science, Economics, Economics and Business, Technology Management, Human Resource Management, International Business and Management, International Economics and Business, International Financial Management

 

Law

European Law, International and Comparative Private Law, International Economic and Commercial Law, International Law and International Organizational Law

 

Behavior and Sociology

Pedagogy, social human behavior, artificial intelligence, psychology, theology, philosophy

 

Well-known alumni:

John Bernoulli: Mathematician

Bart Bok: Astronomer

Wim Duisenberg: First President of the European Central Bank

William Frederick Hermans: writer

Johann Huizinha: Historian

Jacobs Captain: Astronomer

Heike Camerin Onnes: The Nobel Prize in Physics in 1913

Jan Oort: Astronomer

William De Sitter: Astronomer

Peter Jellers Trulstra: lawyer and politician

Paramanga Ernest Wynn: Prime Minister of Burkina Faso

Fritz Cernick: theoretical physicist, Nobel Prize in Physics in 1953

Paul Polman: CEO of Unilever

Job Cohen: Chairman of the Dutch Labour Party

Hans Wijers: Former Minister of Economic Affairs of the Netherlands (1994-1998), current CEO of Akzo Nobel

 

List of Bachelor Courses:

https://www.rug.nl/bachelors/in-english

 

List of Master's Courses:

https://www.rug.nl/masters/in-english

 

Scholarships (specially provided to Taiwanese students):

https://www.rug.nl/education/international-students/financial-matters/holland-scholarship

 

School official website: https://www.rug.nl/

荷蘭大學介紹:世界百大名校 荷蘭格羅寧根大學

University of Groningen 

 

格羅寧根大學成立於1614年,是歐洲最古老的大學之一,也是荷蘭歷史第二悠久和第三大大學,格羅寧根是僅次於萊頓的荷蘭最早的大學城之一,學生約三萬人。其頂尖的學術研究在國際間享有盛名。格羅寧根大學人脈網絡遍佈全球,以現代、學生為主的卓越教學方式更讓格羅寧根大學的享譽國際。格羅寧根大學提供各個領域的學士、碩士、博士課程,其中許多都為英語授課。目前有來自超過100個國家的國際學生,與格羅寧根合作的姊妹校也遍佈世界各地,包括國立台灣大學、國立政治大學、國立中山大學、元智大學、輔仁大學及東吳大學等。

 

格羅寧根大學在學術界擁有優良的聲譽,屬於世界頂尖100所綜合型大學,在泰晤士(Times)世界大學排名中位於全球第74位,在世界大學學術排名(ARWU)中位於全球第75位,在QS世界大學排名中名列全球第90位,歐洲第35位。如此驕人的世界排名,足以見證他的師資實力,並預見學生良好的發展前景。

 

格羅寧根大學是歐洲COIMBRA集團的成員,由歐洲歷史最悠久的38所大學的合作組織,其成員包括英國劍橋大學與牛津大學。格羅寧根大學是歐洲最優秀大學集團(Excellence Group of the best universities in Europe)的成員,該集團共有56個會員,排名在4500個歐洲高等教育機構中前1。

 

另外,在泰晤士世界大學材料科學研究院的排名中,格羅寧根大學的Zernike研究院名列全球前10,與哈佛大學和麻省理工共享優越的科研資源。格羅寧根大學在生態學,材料科學,化學和天文學排名進入歐洲研究型大學前三。其他出色的研究團隊包括:納米科學,物理學,分子生物學,微生物學,醫學,神經科學,社會學,哲學,神學,考古學和藝術學。每年有超過5000份研究成果出版,平均260個博士學生被授予博士學位。

 

格羅寧根大學的物理系一直保持很高的教學和科研水平,擁有多名諾貝爾獎得主。研究重點在:材料科學、核物理、同位素、生物和理論物理。師資力量雄厚,教學設備先進,教學與科研緊密聯繫。物理專業和核加速器研究院集中了50多位傑出的科學家以及約50名博士生、博士後。學習物理學或應用物理學的在校生有300多名。

 

格羅寧根大學學者中有 伯納德·佛林加 Bernard Feringa 教授 諾貝爾化學獎得主;Frederik Zernike 諾貝爾物理學獎得主;Johann Bernoulli,微積分的先驅;Jacobus Kapteyn 銀河系旋轉證據的發現者。學生中包括 Aletta Jacobs 荷蘭第一位女大學生,Wubbo Ockels 荷蘭第一位太空人,Wim Duisenberg 歐洲央行首任行長。

 

格羅寧根市

學校所在的格羅寧根市是荷蘭第五大城市,是荷蘭北部經濟、貿易和文化教育中心,歷史悠久,經濟發達,為學生心目中理想安全的城市。長久以來,格羅寧根市一直是荷蘭北部的科學、文化、貿易和工業中心。它的歷史可以追溯到近1000年以前,築具有濃郁的荷蘭特色。這裡風光秀麗,氣候宜人,交通便捷。人們年輕而富有朝氣,近一半人口年齡在35歲以下。學生在此將可享受到多彩多姿的學生生活以及不同的社交文化活動。格羅寧根市也是國際學生評選中荷蘭裡最為友善的城市。另外,學校還為學生提供良好的運動和娛樂設施,包括多個體育運動中心,銀行、酒吧、商店、餐廳等。

 

校園設施

學校擁有一流的教學科研儀器設備和近百萬冊館藏圖書。它的計算機設備和交互多媒體教學體系在荷蘭大學中居領先水平。該校的另一個特色是擁有先進的電子化學習環境。學校為學生提供便捷的電腦學習設施。學生可以在電腦網絡中查詢參考資料、教師布置的作業任務、教師反饋、登記註冊課程和考試,參與小組討論。

 

學校師資

格羅寧根大學具啟發性、高品質的學風,教學方式以小組進行,鼓勵學生吸收知識,並提供足夠的空間供學生討論、激盪出不同的火花以啟發新的思維。格羅寧根大學獨特的教學與研究向來是該校的核心重點,此項特色也展現在研究所的教學上。

 

國際化是格羅寧根大學在教學方面取得成功的重要因素之一,長期與其他國家的高等院校合作開展交流項目並享有國際聲譽。格羅寧根大學一直把開放型、國際化學校的辦學宗旨,與政府機構、工商企業、學術團體建立廣泛的合作關係是該校辦學的特色,也是提高學校學術水平和知名度的重要手段。學校經常邀請國內、外著名的專家、學者到校授課。一些政府機構的高級政務人員、企業界的高級管理人員也被聘請為客座教授。

 

格羅寧根大學共有9個學院、9個研究生院、27個研究中心和機構、超過175個學位項目, 包括:藝術、行為與社會科學、經濟與商業、法律、數學與自然科學、醫學、哲學、空間資訊學院、神學與宗教研究。為了進一步促進學校的科研發展,格羅寧根大學還在分子學、進化生物學、奈米科學和醫學與製藥革新專業為國際學生設立了全額獎學金。該校計算機設備和多媒體教學體系在荷蘭大學中居領先水平。為了進一步促進學校的科研發展,格羅寧根大學還在分子學、進化生物學、納米科學和醫學與製藥革新專業為國際學生設立了全額獎學金。

 

出國留學,費用也是考慮的因素之一。格羅寧根大學的費用相比首都阿姆斯特丹要便宜很多。學士課程一年學費大概8300-10900歐元,碩士課程一年學費大約11500 - 14350歐元左右。

 

格羅寧根開設的眾多領域的碩士課程,課程長度約為一至二年。格羅寧根大學著重於國際化,將近60種的碩士課程是以英語授課。課程皆為高品質教學與以研究為基礎。除了一般的碩士課程,格羅寧根大學還提供了2年研究型碩士課程,碩士畢業生則可繼續申請博士課程。

 

專業領域介紹:

 

數學與自然科學類

應用數學,應用物理,天文學,化學工程,化學,計算機科學能量與環境學,工業工程與管理數學,納米科學,物理學

 

生命科學類

行為與認知神經系統科學,生物學,生物醫學工程,分子生物學,進化生物學,海洋生物學,醫藥革新,生物醫學,醫學與製藥學,分子生物學與生物

 

空間科學

環境與基礎設施規劃,人口研究,地區研究

 

文學類

美國研究,應用語言學,藝術史及考古學,古典、中古及復興研究,英語研究,歐洲文化,臨床語言學,國際人道主義,國家關係與國際機構,語言學,文學與文化研究,現當代歷史

 

經濟與管理類

工商管理,計量經濟學,運籌學,精算學,經濟學,經濟與商業,技術管理,人力資源管理,國際商業與管理,國際經濟與商業,國際財經管理

 

法律類

歐洲法律,國際與比較私法,國際經濟與商法,國際法與國際組織法

 

行為與社會學類

教育學,社會人類行為,人工智慧,心理學,神學,哲學

 

知名校友:

約翰·貝爾努利:數學家

巴爾特·博克:天文學家

維姆·德伊森貝赫:歐洲中央銀行首任行長

威廉·弗雷德里克·赫爾曼斯:作家

約翰·赫伊津哈:歷史學家

雅各布斯·卡普坦:天文學家

海克·卡默林·翁內斯:1913年諾貝爾物理學獎

揚·奧爾特:天文學家

威廉·德西特爾:天文學家

彼得·耶勒斯·特魯爾斯特拉:律師、政治家

帕拉曼加·埃內斯特·永利:布吉納法索總理

弗里茨·塞爾尼克:理論物理學家,1953年諾貝爾物理學獎

保羅·波爾曼: 聯合利華執行長

喬布·科恩(Job Cohen):荷蘭工黨主席

Hans Wijers: 荷蘭經濟事務部前任部長(1994-1998),現任阿克蘇諾貝爾執行長

 

學士課程清單:

https://www.rug.nl/bachelors/in-english

 

碩士課程清單:

https://www.rug.nl/masters/in-english

 

獎學金(專門提供給台灣學生):

https://www.rug.nl/education/international-students/financial-matters/holland-scholarship

 

學校官網:https://www.rug.nl/